Sunday, November 11, 2012

666 Park Avenue by Gabriella Pierce

Publisher: William Morrow
Age Group: Older readers
Rating: 4/5
Source: Publisher

What if your mother-in-law turned out to be an evil, cold-blooded witch . . . literally?

Ever since fabulously wealthy Malcolm Doran walked into her life and swept her off her feet, fledgling architect Jane Boyle has been living a fairy tale. When he proposes with a stunning diamond to seal the deal, Jane can't believe her incredible luck and decides to leave her Paris-based job to make a new start with Malcolm in New York.

But when Malcolm introduces Jane to the esteemed Doran clan, one of Manhattan's most feared and revered families, Jane's fairy tale takes a darker turn. Soon everything she thought she knew about the world—and herself—is upended. Now Jane must struggle with newfound magical abilities and the threat of those who will stop at nothing to get them.



I am a huge fan of the T.V show and when I read the book, there were many differences which I won't giveaway, but that didn't ruin anything in the book. Yes, the T.V show is pulse pounding, nail biting good, but so the book that started it all. Jane's grandma dies and Jane is left in the book with no one else except Malcolm, a handsome man who falls in love with Jane. The book starts off in Paris and the two later move to New York City and go to live with Malcolm's parents, the famous Doran's, until they get a place of their own. From the beginning Jane and Lynne Doran, Malcolm's mother, meet, there is a lot of tension between them and Jane cannot understand why she unable to make any friends, until all the secrets start spilling out.

I liked Jane's character, but I did feel she worried too much about others and no matter what they did to her, she would forgive them. This book is a definite must read, especially if you are a fan of the T.V show. Even though the book and T.V show are different, don't hesitate to read this book because it's just as good and amazing and be prepared to pull an all-nighter with this one.

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Spirited by Rebecca Rosen

Age Group: Everyone
Publisher: 
Source: Publisher
Rating: 5/5



Heighten your intuition, connect with deceased loved ones, and surpass the psychological roadblocks holding you back with psychic medium Rebecca Rosen's fresh and hip prescriptive program, a unique and refreshing blend of self-help wisdom and psychic insight.
In Spirited, readers can learn how to dig into their past to identify the root of the "damage" that's keeping them from living their best lives. In her colorful and youthfully vibrant voice, medium-to-the-stars Rebecca Rosen shows us how to draw on the power of our intuitive gifts to connect with spirit energy—loved ones who have passed—to provide the clarity necessary to master real-life issues, including relationships, job fulfillment, finances, and body image.


As I began reading SPIRITED by Rebecca Rosen, I immediately fell in love with her writing. Her writing wasn't complicated and her words flowed throughout the novel. But what really stuck with me was the message she was conveying. Even though Rebecca is a world wide known psychic medium, she's so down to earth and seems like a regular human being.

I really enjoyed reading how her life story and her struggles and how she got through everything. She wasn't trying to brag about anything. All she wanted was to write about her problems and easy ways to help yourself live a better life. I think Rebecca did an amazing job in doing so and even if you don't believe in psychic mediums, just read the book because it may help you overcome whatever you're feeling. 

Rebecca talks about how we attract people with the same energy as ourselves and if you take the time to step out of yourself and see the people in your lives, you will be able to see what you've been doing wrong or right. I recommend this book to everyone because it's such an easy read and there was never a dull moment in this book.

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

The Liar, The Bitch and the Wardrobe by Allie Kingsley

Pages: 292
Rating: 4/5
Publisher: Berkley Trade

If you’re going to step on people on your way to the top, you might as well do it in stilettos . . .  . . . Or so she’s been told. Lucy Butler, former wallflower, lands her dream job working for her idol, world-famous fashion photographer Stefano Lepres. But in a world where getting doused in coffee for not getting the order right is the new normal, she isn’t getting any closer to her ideal of being behind the camera herself. Then a superstar actress generously takes Lucy under her wing and teaches her the ways of the rich and famous—treating her to racks of designer clothes and introducing her to a life of private planes and penthouse suites. Soon Lucy is dating a rock star, attending the hottest Hollywood parties, and dressing the part. Lost in the luxury, she loses sight of the things that once mattered most. It’s going to take a hard blow from the high life to send Lucy back to the real life she always wanted. From an industry insider—and featuring wardrobes personally selected by celebrity stylist Robert Verdi—this is a novel that will keep you guessing and introduce you to a world you know exists; you’ve just never seen it unretouched. 


This novel was fun and very stylish! The moment I started reading this book, I loved Lucy's character. She was fun and a friend everyone wished they had. But the biggest part I liked about Lucy was that she was real. She made mistakes, but I never felt the need to hate her because she was too much of a likable and real character.

Later on, Lucy becomes friends with a major starlet and through that process, she finds her self and goes deeper within her self as well. Allie Kingsley wrote a novel from the heart because I was able to relate to the main character. Even though Lucy made mistakes, I think we as readers have to realize that no one lives a perfect life and if the character did live such a life, they wouldn't be interesting and the book would not be read because we would already know how it would end.

This book was filled with twists on every corner and I felt that I was having fun the entire time reading it. If your days are filled with stress and need a way to to just relax, if if you don't have time to go and have an adventure yourself, read this book because it's filled with adventures and the entire time you're reading, you feel like you're inside this novel experiencing everything. 

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

Update

Hi all,

I just wanted to update you on what has been happening lately. I've been so caught up with all my college reading (there's so much to read and so much information I have to stick into my head). I haven't had any time to do any fun reading (as I like to call it) and even try to enjoy a book since college has technically taken over my life. But again, don't fret, I am not planning on abandoning the blog in any way, but until the work load starts to slow down a bit or when I finish my first semester, which should be at the end of November, early December, I should get back to all of you.

Until then, I hope you all have been having fun reading new books and if you liked one a lot, let me know so I can add it to my To-Be-Read pile which is only growing everyday.


Sunday, August 26, 2012

The Unquiet by Jeannine Garsee

Publisher: Bloomsbury
Age Group: YA
Rating: 4/5
Source: Publisher

Sixteen-year-old Rinn Jacobs has secrets: One, she’s bipolar. Two, she killed her grandmother. 

After a suicide attempt, and now her parents' separation, Rinn and her mom move from California to the rural Ohio town where her mother grew up. Back on her medications and hoping to stay well, Rinn settles into her new home, undaunted by the fact that the previous owner hanged herself in Rinn's bedroom. At school, her classmates believe the school pool is haunted by Annaliese, a girl who drowned there. But when a reckless séance goes awry, and terrible things start happening to her new friends—yet not to her—Rinn is determined to find out why she can’t be "touched" by Annaliese...or if Annaliese even exists. 

With the help of Nate Brenner, the hunky “farmer boy” she’s rapidly falling for, Rinn devises a dangerous plan to uncover the truth. Soon reality and fantasy meld into one, till Rinn finds it nearly impossible to tell the difference. When a malevolent force threatens the lives of everyone she cares about--not to mention her own--she can't help wondering: who should she really be afraid of?

Annaliese? Or herself?


Lately, I have been on a craving for horror novels and THE UNQUIET defiantly helped my craving. When I first began reading this book, I thought there was no way this book was going to be crazy because it is a teen horror novel and usually teen horror novels aren't scary, but I was way wrong and even though I knew I shouldn't have been reading this book at night, I still did and it left me sleepless for many days. People even died in this book.

Rinn is the main character and she's not like most protagonists in YA literature, she has bipolar disorder. She takes medication for it and when she's on her medication, she's like a normal teenage girl and has friends. But when she's off her medication is when it's bad for her. She's reckless and begins hearing voices. There's also Nate. He's the popular boy, but when Rinn tells him about her bipolar disorder, he stays by her side and doesn't run away. He likes that she's new and after meeting with each other, they begin dating so there is romance in this novel as well.

The plot was very interesting with the whole ghost haunting theme and the author did a great job of keeping the creepy factor in and not letting the story become a comedy. If you want to read a teen horror novel or just another horror novel, this book is for you. It' scary, there's a romance, and it will keep you up all night. Just look at that cover, makes me want to put the book face down because I feel like something is going to jump out at me. 

Friday, August 24, 2012

Where I Have Been

Hey my lovely followers and readers!

I know it's been FOREVER since I last posted something here on the blog or on Twitter. But I want you to know I am alive and the reason I have ben absent for so long is that I was getting ready to begin college! I was so nervous and anxious because it was a new experience to me and I just didn't really know what to expect. But everything went great and I'm so glad. I start classes on Monday so I'm also pretty excited about that. But I want you all to know that I will begin posting again - it may not be a lot because I am going to focus on my studies, but I want you to know that any questions you have, book suggestions, or just want to write to me for fun, I'll still be checking my email all the time so feel free to write. I would love to hear from you all!

I hope you all have a great end of the summer before school begins and if you have already started, good luck! I'll be back on the blog so stick around. 

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Guest Post: Kirsten Miller

Only a third of the books I own can be found in my Brooklyn apartment. Which is sad, really, since this is the first apartment I’ve ever had that actually has room to house all of them.


Six years ago, I made a sudden (and disastrous) decision to move to France. So I crammed all of my books into a storage facility in Queens. When I returned to New York nine months later, I rented an apartment on the third floor of an old brownstone. The stairs were so steep that I pitied the moving men I’d hired to transfer my belongings from storage. I left most of my heavy book boxes in Queens. That was three apartments ago.





The books you see in the photos are either books I needed to write my own novels—or books I purchased for pleasure in the last six years. (Fortunately for me, there’s a fair amount of overlap between those two groups.)




There’s very little organization involved. (I keep expecting to move my other books out of storage, which would screw up any system I might develop.) My dining room bookcase (the one with the plague doctor mask on top) holds my favorite books. You’ll find everything from Poisons and Antidotes to Rats to The Dictionary of Imaginary Places. (And yes, my last hardcover copies of Kiki Strike and The Empress’s Tomb.)




The shelves in my living room house a truly random assortment of books. (And believe me, things get really random at my house.) I’ve filled a little alcove between my dining room and living room with my heaviest tomes. (Most are devoted to art, weird places, or the history of New York City.)




The books I’ve read most recently can be found beneath my bedside table. (Or on my Ipad, which is always on top of the table.) I’m working on a haunted house/horror novel at the moment, so many of the books are ghost story anthologies. (I highly recommend the ghost stories of Edith Wharton. Who knew, right?) Also, if you look closely, you’ll see the first two Nancy Drew books.




And last but not least, just yesterday I received a package of galleys. The books stacked on the radiator next to my desk are copies of my latest novel, How to Lead a Life of Crime. Unfortunately, they won’t be staying here for long!

Monday, July 2, 2012

Surrender by Lee Nichols

Publisher: Bloomsbury
Age Group: YA
Rating: 3.5/5
Source: Publisher

After a devastating battle at headquarters in New York, the ghostkeeping world is in shambles. When Emma and Bennett return home, they are determined to defeat the wraithmaster, Neos, forever. But it's not going to be easy. Bennett's parents kick him out when they realize he is still using drugs to enhance his powers. Emma is convinced her aunt has come back from the dead to warn her of a new threat. And worst of all, Neos is using wraiths to possess the students at Thatcher Academy. If the ghosts manage to take over the entire school, even Emma won't be strong enough to stop them. But if either she or Bennett sacrifice his or her powers, they might be able to save the ghostkeeping world once and for all-and break the "ghostkeepers lose their powers when they fall in love" curse. The question is: who will be the one to surrender all power?

When I first began the Haunting Emma trilogy, I fell in love with it and couldn't wait to read the rest of the books. I enjoyed the first two books, but I felt the last one fell a bit short. By no means am I saying I hated it, I enjoyed the book, bu t it took me longer to finish than I had expected.

The romance between Emma and Bennett made this book come to life. I loved them both and I missed Bennett a lot when he would leave and I was able to feel Emma's pain there and there were moments in the book where I would be completly shocked when those two were caught together. After waiting so long to read this book, I was glad to see all the characters that I had come to love in this trilogy from Celeste and Natalie and everyone else. Being that it is the last book, I don't want to give much away, but I felt that the book ended right when it did.

The Haunting Emma trilogy is a refreshing read from the regular paranormal reads and Nichols gives is ghosts in which we fall in love with and cute Harvard-esque boys as well.

Monday, June 11, 2012

Fated by Alyson Noel

Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Age Group: YA
Rating: 4/5
Source: Publisher


Lately strange things have been happening to Daire Santos. Animals follow her, crows mock her, and glowing people appear out of nowhere. Worried that Daire is having a nervous breakdown, her mother packs her off to stay in the dusty plains of Enchantment, New Mexico with a grandmother she’s never met.

There she crosses paths with Dace, a gorgeous guy with unearthly blue eyes who she’s encountered before...but only in her dreams. And she’ll get to know her grandmother—a woman who recognizes Daire’s bizarre episodes for what they are. A call to her true destiny as a Soul Seeker, one who can navigate between the worlds of the living and the dead. Her grandmother immediately begins teaching her to harness her powers—but it’s an art that must be mastered quickly. Because Dace’s brother is an evil shape-shifter who’s out to steal her powers. Now Daire must embrace her fate as a Soul Seeker and find out if Dace is one guy she’s meant to be with...or if he’s allied with the enemy she’s destined to destroy.


I was so excited when I first head Alyson Noel was starting a new series. I loved her Immortals series and The Soul Seekers didn't let me down. I was placed into a world where I never had been before and I never wanted to leave after I began reading it. Daire Santos has lived a life on the road and when she came to Enchantment, New Mexico, it was a big shock for her. She was so used to California and life in New Mexico was different and there she meets her grandmother, Paloma.

I didn't find Daire's character annoying, I found her interesting and I really liked how she stood up for herself. She was a strong character and even though coming to a new school was hard for her as it is for anyone, she stood her ground and let the Cruel Crew know she was not going to hid and cry. Daire's journey was a long one and at times I did find the book going a bit slow, but not the slow that you would get bored with. There was just so much to learn about the Seekers and then came Dace and Cade. Noel was able to make us like one and not the other and even though I didn't like Cade and knew he was the villan of the story, there was something about him that lured me to hm even more.

All of Noel's covers are beautiful and heart-stopping. FATED has a great cover and I can't wait to see all of the other covers. Overall, FATED was a great start to a new series by a very promising author and I can't wait to see where the series will go next. If you loved the Immortals series or are looking for the next best read, this book is for you. 


Below is a clip from the audiobook of FATED. Enjoy!

video







Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Jodi Meadows Interview


1. How did you come up with the idea for INCARNATE?


Fairies. They dragged me from my bed in the middle of the night, hauled me out my window, and made me listen to the story a hundred times until I could recite it exactly as they told it. Then they said I had to write the book Or Else.


That answer may be a lie.


 
2. The road to publication is hard, how was yours?


Hard! I wrote a lot of manuscripts, got rejected a lot, and had some pretty hard times while trying to get published. Ultimately, the struggle was worth it. I think I appreciate what I have now more than I would have if I hadn't gone through those difficulties.


 
3. Can you relate to any of your characters?


Sure! Ana's insecurity with her music comes from a very real place. I've felt that same insecurity and need for success with music, dance, and writing. It's hard putting your heart and and wanting so much to be good at what you love, and knowing you have a long way to go.


 
4. For all the people who want to be writers out there, what advice would you give them?


Write a lot. Read a lot. Be prepared to get rejected a lot. Writers who succeed are just writers who didn't quit.


 

5. Are you planning on writing any other books after INCARNATE?


Yes! INCARNATE is a trilogy, so there will be two more set in that world. I have other stories I'm tinkering with on the side, but they haven't sold yet, so I don't want to say anything about them.


 
6. Can you describe INCARNATE in five words?


Reincarnation. Youth. Love. Music. WE'REALLGONNADIE!!!!

Saturday, May 12, 2012

Katherine Easer Interview


1. The characters Maddy and Agnes are very interesting and captured my attention. How did you come up with them?


I started with a listof positive and negative traits that I thought would be intriguing (and frightening) to have in a character. Then I asked myself what each of the girls wanted.  Initially this helped to drive the plot, but I still didn’t have a clear idea of who Maddy and Agnes were.  After I’d put them through a variety of stressful situations, they sprang to life.  They started saying and doing things that were not part of the plan.  Since I was curious to see what they would do next, I didn’t rein them in too much.

 
2. Can you relate to any of the characters?


Well, I can certainly empathize with all of them, even though they’re very troubled girls, but what was fun about writing this novel was that I was able to work with characters who were so different from me.  I feel very fortunate that my childhood was a happy one and that I had parents who loved and understood me, but I’ve often wondered what my teen years would have been like had my childhood been marked by abandonment and loss.  Would I have been out-of-control?  Desperate to fit in?  Through Sarah I was able to explore these questions.

 
3. The road to publication is a long journey. How was your road?


Long and difficult.  Vicious Little Darlings was my first attempt at writing a novel, but prior to that I’d written countless short stories that were rejected by every literary journal I queried.  VLD was rejected 24 times before my agent,Rachel Orr, agreed to represent me.  Eventually I learned that rejection is just part of the process.  If it doesn’t kill your love for writing, then you know you’re on the right path.

 
4. Vicious Little Darlings was an amazing book that kept me on the edge of my seat, do you plan to write anymore books? Can you give us a little hint?


Thanks, Anastasia. :)  Yes, I’m planning to write more books.  I’m currently finishing up another psychological thriller.  I can’t say much at this point, but I will say that it’s dark, twisted, and very different from VLD.

 
5. What advice would you give to author's to be?


Never give up.  Keep writing, even if publication doesn’t comeright away.  Attend workshops and conferences, work on your craft, revise.  Remember: Authors are just writers who didn’t give up.

 
6. Can you describe yourself in five words?



Curious
Quirky
Observant
Procrastinator
Daydreamer

Sunday, May 6, 2012

Vicious Little Darlings by Katherine Easer

Publisher: Bloomsbury
Ag Group: Young Adult
Source: Publisher

Sarah Weaver wasn't looking forward to starting at an all-girls school. But that was before she met Maddy. Maddy and her best friend, Agnes, are fun and rich and interesting-and for some reason, they seem to really like Sarah. Before long, Maddy and Agnes have moved Sarah into a big house off campus, where they cook together, buy each other presents, and share each other's secrets. So why does Sarah feel like something's bizarrely wrong? As more and more cracks start to show in Maddy's and Agnes's perfect veneers, Sarah notices some strange and disturbing things: Maddy's compulsive lying, Agnes's obsession with Maddy, and the deterioration of their friendship. And just when Sarah begins to question her own sanity, things turns deadly. Fans of Pretty Little Liars will devour this juicy debut novel.

I can't believe I waited so long to read this book! I kept on looking at it on my bookshelf, but never picked it up until I read the first page and I was hooked. The plot was definatly creepy and if you get scared of all the little things, then you'll be scared when you read this book, especially in the dark.

I thought Sarah was the type of character that didn't have herself together and couldn't get herself together either and Agnes and Maddy were from another planet. Everytime they came into the picture, I got this uneasy feeling in my gut that they were up to no good and whatever they were doing was never good. Plus, I knew something was hiding on the inside, dying to come out.

Going off to college next year myself, I was scared of this book. I kept on thinking to myself, what if I meet people like Maddy and Agnes and get myself into a big mess like Sarah did? Easer knows how to write horror and this book wasn't just horror. For lack of a better word, it was creepy. It gave you emotions that you could only feel if you were actually in that situation and I felt for Sarah at times. No matter what she got herself into, she was going down the rain with Agnes and Maddy.

If you're into something different with a scare factor, pick this book up.

Monday, April 30, 2012

Fated by Alyson Noel Promotion

With the release of FATED by Alyson Noel, fans can pre-order the book in any way (print, e-book, or audiobook) and submit their receipt so they can receive a pair of soul seeker inspired earrings - while supplies last.


The link for the rules for this amazing promotion can be found on the link below.

 http://stmartins.com/fatedpreorder

Thursday, April 26, 2012

Angst You by Anne Tibbets


I don’t consider myself an expert in anything.  I’m good at a number of things: ping pong, typing, memorizing movie quotes, stringing words together into a sentence, giving unsolicited advice – but I’m not an expert, by any stretch of the imagination.



So, as I write this guest post about teen angst, I’m a little concerned you will think I’m some professional, and you should follow my advice instead of seeing a therapist, or a guidance counselor.  I’m not.  If you’re suffering severely, get some professional help.  But if you’re just trying to get through the daily grind of your teenage years, here are some pearls of wisdom from someone who has been there.

Take it for what it’s worth.



Speaking from my own experience, angst can be dangerous. It’s defined by Webster’s as a ‘state of anxiety,’ and there was a time in my early teens when I was very anxious about a lot of things.  My family life was falling apart at the seams, and because of this I was unable to focus on school, and therefore, my grades dropped dramatically, I grew depressed, I internalized all of these unspoken feelings, and as a result, I contemplated suicide.  For many teens out there, this kind of anxiety is overwhelming to the point of being deadly.



There is, however, a light at the end of the tunnel.  However difficult it is for a teen to imagine, much like the trailers and anti-bully campaigns say, ‘it does get better.’  As time progresses, as life goes on, as you and those around you grow and change, you eventually reach a point in your life when that terrible and horrible anxiety and angst from long ago is no longer so all-consuming and earth-shattering.  You succeed by enduring.



You might be saying, ‘that’s dandy, but how does that help me NOW?’ It doesn’t.  And here is my completely unprofessional, but experience-ridden advice, from a person who once kept a bottle of pills under her bed just in case she needed a quick get away…(Which I don’t recommend – by the way!)



1)      Find a muse

Some people sing.  Some people draw.  Some people dance.  Some people game.  You don’t have to be the best at it – you just have to love it.  This creative release, in my case, was music and writing, and they were instrumental in giving me a healthy escape from the terrors inside my household.  Try skateboarding.  Ride bikes.  Swim.  Play an instrument.  Join a book club.  Act in a play.  I’m not joking in the slightest.  Find something else to DO while everything else is crashing down.  Take it from one who knows: it helps.

2)      Get a day planner

Again, I’m not fooling.  Part of my problem with coping with my home life was the fact that I was totally and completely disorganized.  It wasn’t until I got into my late teens that a very wise advisor taught me how to create an hourly time manager, so I could plan when I was studying, when I was eating, when I was sleeping, when I was at rehearsal or when I was writing – you name it, I put it on the calendar.  I felt in control.  I was on top of it.  My grades improved because I was able to plan out when certain assignments would get completed.  It doesn’t have to be digital, you can make one yourself on a piece of notebook paper.  But I totally recommend a weekly, hourly breakdown, so you can get a grip on all that needs to be done.  And here’s a free tip: don’t forget to add in travel time!

3)      Find someone to talk 100% honesty

It can be a best friend.  It can be a school counselor.  It can be an Aunt or Uncle. A spiritual advisor.  A therapist.  Your Mom or Dad.  There has to be at least 1 person who you can bare all honesty, and be true to the truth.  That someone, when they ask, ‘How are you today?’ that you won’t just blow sunshine and say, ‘Fine!’ when you feel like dirt.  This is a hard person to find.  You kind of have to audition them.  Find one person, give them a taste of 100% you-truth, and wait a week to see what they do with it.  If it stays with them, and they don’t blab it all over, or start to treat you differently, try it again and see if they can do the same.  If you find this person, you have found gold, and you should treat them as such.  Don’t lose hope.  These people exist.  They can be hard to find at times.  But keep trying – because once you find someone like this – your whole perception of what’s really true, changes.  No joke.  It’s pretty amazing.



As I said before, I’m no expert on anything.  But I’ve been around the block, suffered a few blows in life (a few of them are in my new book SHUT UP), so take my advice to heart, and never give up.



Like food poisoning, teen angst doesn’t last forever.  It’s just while you’re in the middle of it, that it blows chunks.

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Purity by Jackson Pearce

Publisher: Little, Brown
Age Group: YA
Source: Publisher

Before her mother died, Shelby promised three things: to listen to her father, to love as much as possible, and to live without restraint. Those Promises become harder to keep when Shelby's father joins the planning committee for the Princess Ball, an annual dance that ends with a ceremonial vow to live pure lives -- in other words, no "bad behavior," no breaking the rules, and definitely no sex.

Torn between Promises One and Three, Shelby makes a decision -- to exploit a loophole and lose her virginity before taking the vow. But somewhere between failed hookup attempts and helping her dad plan the ball, Shelby starts to understand what her mother really meant, what her father really needs, and who really has the right to her purity.


I first began this novel thinking it was short and a quick read, but I found it was a lot more than that. So much happened in this book. Shelby was a relatable character. She had just lost her mother and was left with three promises that she vowed to follow. But following them was hard because it led her to many decisions that she herself wasn't too sure of. Shelby and her dad are on the committee for the Princess Ball and Shelby starts realizing that she will have to break her mom's promises and she doesn't want to, so she goes out to just get laid. But throughout the book, Shelby finds herself and fights with herself. Shelby wasn't just some character, she was a character with feelings and you actually felt for Shelby. She was a character with humor and pain.

I found the book to be a great read, but I wouldn't call it a quick read because so much happened and you felt something for all the characters, especially Shelby and the book left you wanting to know how the Princess Ball was going to be like at the end.

The cover was simple, but sweet. I don't think you could capture the premise of this book in a more perfect cover. This is the first book I've read by Jackson Pearce, but I'm sure I'll be reading more in the future because her writing is great and her stories really speak to you.

Friday, April 20, 2012

Teresa Lo Interview



1. Your novel, HELL'S GAME has an interesting premise, how did you come up with it?

I grew up in Coffeyville, Kansas, and I had always heard stories about the Gateway to Hell in Stull, Kansas. For years, I had been trying to write a story that could incorporate the Gateway and a prank gone wrong, and recently, I finally merged that idea with the idea of a bizarre, high-stakes game of nightmares.


2. The road to publication is always hard, how was your road?

My struggle to publication has definitely been a hard one! I have been writing books since I was in high school, and I remember how I would query agents and publishers only to receive rejection after rejection. I ended up taking a break from prose and focused instead on screenwriting, but the desire to publish a YA novel was still inside of me. I took another crack at writing a YA novel over two years ago, and that effort, CHOP SUEY, was met with the same response as my high school efforts—which was rejection! This time, however, I didn’t get discouraged, and I ended up writing HELL’S GAME. Overall, the process for me to get to where I am today took over a decade and it was filled with a lot of people telling me, “No” and me telling myself, “Don’t stop.”


3. Are there any characters in HELL'S GAME that you are close to or resemble you?

When I was growing up in Kansas, I encountered a lot of racism, and I was very uncomfortable in my own skin. I used a lot of my memories to write the Asian-American character Kristin, and her character’s insecurity reflected what I felt about myself when I was her age. What I love about Kristin is that she starts off as a meek follower who bottles up her emotions, but throughout the book, she releases her anger to find the strength within herself.



4. What books have you read lately that have kept you on your toes?

I loved The Hunger Games trilogy, and it really inspired me to write something with a lot of action and twists and turns.


5. Can you tell us five things about you that no one may know?

1) I’m a middle child.

2) When I was a teenager, I had braces and head gear. It was very embarrassing, but at least my teeth are straight now.

3) I have a M.F.A. in Screenwriting from the University of Southern California.

4) I have a cat named Paige Turner.

5) I was an intern for The Late Show with David Letterman when I was an undergraduate in college.


6. If you could describe HELL'S GAME in three words, what words would you choose?

Action-packed. Suspenseful. Scary.



Be sure to check out Teresa Lo's novel HELL'S GAME!


Saturday, April 14, 2012

Fallen in Love by Lauren Kate

Publisher: Delacorte Press
Age Group: YA
Source: Publisher

Unexpected. Unrequited. Forbidden. Eternal. Everyone has their own love story.

And in a twist of fate, four extraordinary love stories combine over the course of a romantic Valentine's Day in Medieval England. Miles and Shelby find love where they
least expect it. Roland learns a painful lesson about finding-and losing love. Arianne pays the price for a love so fierce it burns. And for the first -and last- time, Daniel and Luce
will spend a night together like none other.

When I first received the book, I didn't know if it went with the series or not. I know RAPTURE was the final book and then relaized FALLEN IN LOVE is book 3.5. I know waiting for RAPTURE is making me become more desperate everyday. Having FALLEN IN LOVE to read, gives everyone who has loved the FALLEN series something to read until the final book comes out.

The whole book has different stories from all our favorite characters and the first tiem they fell in love. With all honesty, my favorite was Luce and Daniel's story. I guess it's because I've loved both of them so much this whole time reading the series, that I never could wait until the next book came so I could find out what was going to happen to them. Plus, I really wanted to know more of their background and this book gives it.

The cover was again amazing and I've really loved the covers for this entire series throughout. But because the book was so small, it left me for more and once I was done, I knew I needed RAPTURE right away, but the good news is that it's almost out and we can read the finale.

If you can't wait any longer for the last book to be published, I recommned reading this because you get to go through everything with your favorite characters and hopefully it's a good filler for the in between time.

Saturday, March 17, 2012

Top Books To Read

Below is a list of books I have loved over the past few years. As time goes by, I'll be updating this list with other books I enjoy reading and if any of you have any suggestions of books, let me know!


The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller

Evermore by Alyson Noel

Along For the Ride by Sarah Dessen

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Timeless by Alexandra Monir

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Evernight by Claudia Gray

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong

The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Want to Go Private? By Sarah Littman

The Ivy by Lauren Kunze and Rina Onur

The Duff by Kody Keplinger

Wither by Lauren DeStefano

Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

13 To Life by Shannon Delany

Shut Out by Kody Keplinger

Bitter End by Jennifer Brown

The Daughters Join the Party by Joanna Philbin

Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fanteskey

Fallen by Lauren Kate

Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

Bunheads by Sophie Flack

Deadly Little Secrets by Laurie Faria Stolarz

The Dark Divine by Bree Despain

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Blue is for Nightmares by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Saturday, February 18, 2012

Bunheads by Sophie Flack

Publisher: Poppy
Age Group: YA
Rating: 5/5
Source: Publisher

As a dancer with the ultra-prestigious Manhattan Ballet Company, nineteen-year-old Hannah Ward juggles intense rehearsals, dazzling performances and complicated backstage relationships. Up until now, Hannah has happily devoted her entire life to ballet.

But when she meets a handsome musician named Jacob, Hannah's universe begins to change, and she must decide if she wants to compete against the other "bunheads" in the company for a star soloist spot or strike out on her own in the real world. Does she dare give up the gilded confines of the ballet for the freedoms of everyday life?


I've always been amazed by the life of a ballerina, but I never thought it was as hard as it was descibed in this book. Throughout the book, I could see Sophie throwing in bits of her life and I could see her come through Hannah. Being a pretty ballerina isn't easy, especially if you're a professional one. The story flowed and I became more interested in Hannah's world. I wanted to be there and see if she would get the part or if she was just going to another dancer.

I also thought the term "bunheads" was an interesting way to call a ballerina. I love watching ballets, but this book showed me how much hard work the ballerinas put into the performance and how they have no life besides ballet. They have to be one weight and I thought gym class was a burden at times.

This book was a great escape from everything usual and we get the experience of something  that happens behind closed doors. I loved watching Hannah evolve and change from this girl who ballet was her only world to someone who wanted to get out there and realize life is more than ballet.

Sunday, January 22, 2012

Dreaming Awake by Gwen Hayes

Publisher: NAL Trade
Age Group: YA
Rating: 3/5
Source: Publisher

She fell for him in a nighttime world. But the time for dreaming is past—and the here-and-now can be just as fragile their love…

When Theia Alderson first encountered a mysterious, handsome boy in her dreams, she never imagined how finding Haden Black—and falling in love—could change her life. To save Haden, Theia sacrificed everything. And the dangerous bargain she made could have lasting repercussions.

Now Theia has returned to Serendipity Falls, and she finds herself struggling with the same deadly hungers that have tortured Haden. When students at their high school fall prey to a mysterious illness, Theia can’t help but wonder if Haden’s control is slipping—and how much longer she’ll have a grip on her own.

And still the nightmare realm of Under won’t let them go. Someone from Haden’s past is determined to destroy Theia from the inside out, starting with those closest to her, forcing Theia to choose between family and friends and a love that may have been doomed from the start…


The first book was breathtaking and so was this one! Once I got my hands on DREAMING AWAKE, I couldn't stop reading it and it didn't disappoint. The first half of the book did continue with Thea's and Hayden's relationship and at times it did get boring, but it doesn't last too long. Hayes immediatly throws in twists and turns that keep you flipping the pages and she leaves you with more sinister events along the way.

FALLING UNDER's cover did not disappoint and DREAMING AWAKE's cover was still amazing. Hayes has a way with words that flow and the way she writes a story, brings out emotions that you never thought you had.

My favorite part when reading a book is feeling what the characters are feeling and with this book, I didn feel it. I felt as though I was watching a movie rather than reading a book. Gwen Hayes has shown that she has talent and I can't wait until I read what else she has in store for us.

Fracture by Megan Miranda

Publisher: Walker & Company
Age Group: YA
Rating: 3.5/5
Source: Publisher

Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She was dead. And yet she somehow defied medical precedent to come back seemingly fine

—despite the scans that showed significant brain damage. Everyone wants Delaney to be all right, but she knows she's far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can't control or explain, Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. Is her altered brain now predicting death, or causing it?

Then Delaney meets Troy Varga, who recently emerged from a coma with similar abilities. At first she's reassured to find someone who understands the strangeness of her new existence, but Delaney soon discovers that Troy's motives aren't quite what she thought. Is their gift a miracle, a freak of nature-or something much more frightening?


When I first began reading FRACTURE, I wasn' sure what to expect. I thought the synopss sounded intense and the cover was beautiful, so I was excited to read it. The book started out a bit slow for me. I wish there was more action in where Delaney fell through the ice. But as the book progressed, it got better. The romance in this book was a cute-fun one rather than the quick romances. I loved the description Miranda used. She was able to give you all the medical information in very few words which actually made sense.

Now, I want to talk about the cover that is an absolute show stopper! If I were walking through the bookstore and saw that cover, you bet I would pick this book up. The cover also gives you a pretty good description of what the book will be about, though I did think the book would be a paranormal, though it turned out not to be. And I was glad since it was great.

Megan Miranda has written an amazing novel that lingers with you after the last pages and makes you think twice before walking on a frozen lake.