Tuesday, August 20, 2013

The Fashion Insider's Guide to New York by Carol Sabas

Publisher: Abrams
Rating: 4/5
Source: Publisher

The Fashion Insiders’ Guides are carefully curated compendiums of the current hotspots, classic haunts, and hidden gems of the world’s greatest fashion destinations. A former Parisian living in New York, French Voguecorrespondent Carole Sabas was often approached by friends and colleagues on their way to Paris for Fashion Week, looking for the best place for a quick facial, early morning yoga, or to meet a friend for a drink. So many people asked, in fact, that she produced a small guide filled with advice, which she gave out for free. Requests for more information and other cities came pouring in.
Abrams is now making Sabas’s Paris and New York guides available to everyone, with expanded content including chapters such as “Eating and Drinking,” “Beauty,” “Health,” “Shopping,” “Art,” and an eclectic selection of odds and ends called “Might Be Useful One Day.” Written with a light touch and in a friendly tone, each entry includes a description of the recommended spots with hints about when to go, who to ask for, and what to get, as well as location and contact information. The inclusion of additional advice from local fashion celebrities on their favorite places to frequent puts readers confidently in-the-know. Peppered throughout with drawings by a noted and local fashion illustrator, these beautifully designed guides will be the must-have accessories of the season.

I was really excited to read this book. This isn't a novel, but a guide and even though I don't usually read guides, this one was great and a book everyone needs to carry with them when traveling or living in New York. I love New York and go there all the time and this book showed me so many places that I didn't really know existed. Now, who has time to run around the city to search for all these places? This guide tells you where to find amazing restaurants, thrift stores to get a great deal, manis and pedis, makeup artists and hair dressers. And the other great part about this book is that it's small and can fit in your purse so you don't have to worry about carrying a huge book around with you. 

The book is written is such a simple and easy fashion that you can read the entire book in under twenty minutes and have an idea where you want to go. If you're traveling to New York or live there and love fashion, get this book now because you're going to find a ton of gems that this city has in it.

Thursday, May 16, 2013

kate spade new york: Things We Love Authors: by kate spade new york, foreword by Glenda Bailey, introduction by Deborah Lloyd

within the four walls of kate spade new york, personal style is applauded and cultural curiosity is encouraged. long before the days of pinboards and social sharing, the brand’s in-house creative team began amassing a collection of things we love on their website: a crayon ring, a cocktail doodle, a particularly dreamy photograph.
people began visiting and chiming in with suggestions. now, the things we love have come to life in celebration of the brand’s 20th anniversary. each of the book’s 20 chapters is filled with things we love—from the color red to a well-placed bow to a sense of humor and handwritten notes. part visual diary, part inspirational reference and sprinkled throughout with playful tips and practical advice, things we love is a beautiful compilation that visually represents the spirit of kate spade new york—a place where the colors are bold, smart design is key and fashion is fun.

This was such an amazing and fun book to read. First of all, you'll finish this book in a day, actually in less than an hour. It's everything that inspires Kate Spade and if you love fashion, you'll love this book as well. Every image made me realize why I love this designer so much. She's fun and her clothing show it as well. Looking at Kate Spade's clothing makes me feel like I'm in a candy shop filled with pink candy and cupcakes and I don't know which one to choose.

When I read the part about New York and things about New York, it brought back so many memories and reasons, the same as in the book, why I love the city. But this book isn't only about fashion, it also gives some advice that you will keep to heart. If you love fashion, go and get this book now. It's the perfect book to put you in a great mood.

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

The Bliss by Jennifer Murgia Quote Hop

He takes a breath, then shrugs his shoulders, arching his luminous wings high
into the air above him. “Apparently I watch too closely.”
For tomorrow’s quote, go to: http://crazyreaderchick.blogspot.mx

Monday, March 11, 2013

Guest Post Jennifer Murgia: Fiction-or Truth?

Fiction—or Truth?

There’s nothing more satisfying than losing oneself within the pages of a good book—after all, world building is the foundation of good storytelling, and I’ve always believed there’s an element of truth to what is told. When you think about it, tales from long ago, stories whispered around campfires . . . they came from somewhere, didn’t they?
When I sat down to write my first Young Adult novel, ANGEL STAR, I knew I needed a plausible premise. Oh sure, fiction is fiction, and everyone loves a good story, but it’s always better when what you’ve read whispers .  . . “What if?”
The research I did for ANGEL STAR consisted of studying the religious and cultural beliefs of my favorite beings, angels. Though many stories are different, many were strikingly similar. And no matter where I searched, one element rang true . . . there was an order to these celestial beings. Through the ages, insight into angels have ranged from sightings, strange phenomena, appearance and of course, what I needed for my book, order: Archangels, Seraphims, Thrones, Cherubim, to name a few, and the lowest ranking, only because of its close proximity to Earth –Guardians.
But my research didn’t stop there. I wanted to tie in a visual lifeline between a Guardian and its human, something that would also physically connect my two characters, Garreth and Teagan. I chose the Octagram for its eight points, representing the number of incarnations an angel would watch over its earthly charge. Now, mind you, my mythology was purely made up. That’s the beauty of fiction—it’s bendable, pliable, and put to the astounding use of a writer’s brain. The Octagram has always represented the Wiccan symbol the Wheel of the Year, and the eight Sabbats. And while Angel Star is anything but Wiccan-based, the symbol fit.
Thus began my use of symbols throughout the story—the Unicursal and Bicursal Octagrams. Unicursal is one continuous line forming the star and means harmony. This was, without at doubt, the star for Garreth, my light angel and Teagan’s love. The Bicursal is made up of two overlapping squares representing conflict and separation, and a perfect fit for my dark angel, Hadrian. It symbolized his shift from good to evil, light to dark, as if it were made for him.
The number eight is very symbolic throughout the book, as it is in the sequel, Lemniscate. But what you many not know, is the number eight seems to follow me. I have eight letters in my name. Angel Star was written in eight months –started in June, ended in February. June is the sixth month. February is the 2nd. Six plus two is eight.
Lemniscate’s cover bears an infinity symbol, also viewed as a sideways eight –again, the connection. My third and final book in the series, The Bliss, has a hidden symbol on its cover. And while I’m certain readers will notice it immediately, I’m curious if you will know what it represents –yes, you can look this one up when you find it!

Whether you’re enjoying fiction for a good story, or if something nags at the back of your head, causing you to question, “Is this real?” you may want to listen carefully. I, for one, can’t say angels are indeed real beings that watch over us. I’d like to think they exist, and deep down, I know I truly do. But I do know one thing and that there IS truth in what we read. Sometimes it’s hidden, and sometimes it’s as plain as day. The fun part is discovering it!

Saturday, February 9, 2013

The Bliss by Jennifer Murgia Coming Soon!

The Bliss
Jennifer Murgia
YA Fiction
Lands Atlantic Publishing
Ebook novella – Release date March 18th, 2013

Like his fallen brother Lucifer, Hadrian has been ordered by his fellow angels into a reflective state know as the Bliss.
 Having also grown enamored by the same darkness that inhabits human souls, he feels that Lucifer's banishment was too severe.
Forever influenced by that horrific event, Hadrian vows revenge and ventures to Earth to follow him, unwittingly starting an eternal competition for the control of human and angelic souls alike.
In this Angel Star novella, THE BLISS will show how the battle between dark and light truly began.

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Jennifer Anne Davis Interview

1.In your novel, THE VOICE, can you relate to any of your characters? Is your personality resonating in any of them?

The main character, Audrey, was actually a difficult person for me to create because she goes through this crazy traumatic experience. I had to put myself in her shoes in order to write her. It was a really hard place to go to.

2. Every author has their story about their road to publication. How was your road?
Long! I wrote a book and tried to get it published with little success. At the time, I had no idea what I was doing or even what genre I was writing. Then I entered an essay contest and won! My essay was published in a book and this fueled my desire to keep on writing. I realized then that I loved to read young adult novels and decided to write the book I wanted to read. I outlined THE VOICE, wrote it in four months, revised it for almost a year, then sent it out to agents and publishers. I had several people interested in the story. I ended up going with a small publishing house that specializes in YA books and I couldn’t be happier!

3. How did you come up with the idea for THE VOICE?
I kept having a reoccurring dream involving a girl that was locked in a cabin. At first I planned to have her guardian angel rescue her but then I thought that the angel thing was overdone. I liked the idea of telepathy, so I just kept playing around with the story until I had something that worked.

4. Where do you write? Kitchen, living room, park?
When I’m first outlining and drafting a story, I write curled up on the couch. However, when revising, I always work in my office sitting at a desk. Revising is really hard for me so I need to be in a quiet place.

5. Can you describe yourself and your interests?
Well, I am first and foremost, a mother of three young kids! Writing happens when they are either at school or in bed! But I read whenever I can. On average I read two books a week (always YA books). I also love taking my kids to the beach and just being with my family.

6. How does it feel like being a debut author?
It’s an odd mixture of pure joy and complete and utter fear. I am so excited that my dream of becoming a published author is here! When I saw the advanced reader copy of my book with my picture and name on it, I cried! It was so surreal. But the thought of people reading and judging my work is hard. I really hope people enjoy the story. I’m trying to grow thick skin because I know not everyone will love it, and that’s okay (at least that’s what I keep telling myself). I get butterflies in my stomach just thinking about its release day!!

7. Do you plan on writing anymore novels? Can you tell us a bit about them?
I signed a new three book deal with my publisher. The first book is tentatively entitled THE KEY and is slated for a release date in 2014. The first book is written and I’m about to begin edits with my editor. I am currently writing book two in the series. THE KEY series is completely different from THE VOICE. THE VOICE is a contemporary novel whereas THE KEY is a fantasy novel set in a medieval kingdom. It’s about the return of the sole surviving heir, mistakenly left alive after the entire royal family was massacred seventeen years ago, when the kingdom fell. And that’s all I can say for now!

You can visit me at www.JenniferAnneDavis.com for updates and news! Please feel free to follow me on FB, Twitter, and Goodreads! All links can be accessed via my website!

Thanks for the great interview Jennifer!! Check out Jennifer's debut novel, THE VOICE, out on January 29, 2013!

Thursday, January 3, 2013

Laguna Cove by Alyson Noel

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Age Group: Young Adults
Rating: 3.5/5
Source: Bought

Moving to sunny Southern Cal feels like punishment to 17-year-old Anne.  The hippie-ish school is different from her old one on the East Coast, and the social scene is all about hanging out at the beach and surfing.  And then there's Ellie: beautiful, competitive queen of the social scene who takes an instant disliking to Anne.  So when Chris--one of Ellie's oldest friends and, oh yeah, the most gorgeous guy in school--reaches out to Anne and offers to teach her how to surf, sparks fly...in more ways than one.

I've had this book on my shelf for a long time and I decided to read it. I've read every other Alyson Noel book and I've loved them all and I was pretty excited about this one and not because it sounded good, but because it was written by Alyson Noel and if you're a reader of this blog, you know I absolutely love Alyson Noel and her books. She's defiantly one of my favorite authors. 

I felt as though the book started a bit slow and even thought the writing was good, the plot didn't have much of a hit for me. I was hoping there was going to be a budding cute romance, and even though there was, it didn't have any magic. Also, mean girl Ellie, became nice and the book turned out to be more of a happy - lesson learned book rather than a book filled with romance, gossip, and a big competition in the end. I really was hoping that there was going to be a lot more competition for the surf contest between Ellie and Anne, but there was none and the plot fell short. Plus, I didn't think there was a climax in the story that made me jump or give me any emotions. 

If you're at the beach, this is a fun book to read and enjoy. It's a very quick read, but it's not very memorable. The summery makes the story sound as though it has more potential than it actually does.